KU Kudos: Jayhawk faculty and staff achievements, November 2022

LAWRENCE — It's time to celebrate Jayhawk colleagues' achievements: KU News Service accepted submissions and combed websites, social media and newsletters for recent external honors and awards for current faculty and staff at the Lawrence, Edwards and Medical Center campuses and affiliates. Have something to share? Submit by Dec. 5 for the next edition. Self-nominations are encouraged, with more information available here.

Abiodun Akinwuntan, dean of the School of Health Professions, has been elected as a fellow of the Academy of Medicine Specialties of Nigeria.

Vitaly Chernetsky, professor of Slavic and Eurasian languages & literatures, was elected president elect/vice president 2023-2025 of the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies board of directors.

Melissa Greene-Blye, assistant professor of journalism, was an invited presenter on the Presidential Panel at the 2022 American Journalism Historians Association Conference in Memphis, Tennessee. 

Chris Harper, chief information officer for KU Medical Center and The University of Kansas Health System, is one of six winners in the Kansas City ORBIE Awards, which recognize chief information officers who demonstrate excellence in technology leadership. Harper is the first CIO serving both the university and health system, overseeing approximately 600 employees. 

Lindsey Heidrick, clinical assistant professor of hearing & speech, received the Speech-Language Pathologist of the Year Award for the state of Kansas. She was recognized during the Kansas Speech-Language-Hearing Association's annual conference in September in Manhattan.

Tzu-Chieh Kurt Hong, assistant professor of architecture, received a 2022 King Medal from the Architectural Research Centers Consortium.  

Brenda Linares, research and learning health sciences librarian in A.R. Dykes Library, has been selected for the Emerging Leader Award program by the Network of National Libraries of Medicine, region 3.

Lisa Mische Lawson, professor of occupational therapy education, served as leader of the World Leisure Organization's diversity, access and inclusion special interest group. In this role she was asked to write the introduction for a section on inclusive leisure for the organization's magazine, UNCOVER.

Ashley Muddiman, associate professor of communication studies, was named secretary of the International Communication Association and American Political Science Association's political communications divisions.

Nathalia Munck Machado, postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Population Health, received an International Postdoctoral Fellowship from the American Association of University Women. Machado has focused her research and service on understanding and reducing tobacco use, especially among Latinos. 

Berl Oakley, the Irving S. Johnson Distinguished Professor of Molecular Biology, was named to the editorial board of the Journal of Fungi.

Karrie Shogren, professor of special education, was a panelist for the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine’s Board on Children, Youth, and Families workshop in June 2022. Some of her insights were then featured in a chapter of a followup publication, “Supporting Children with Disabilities: Lessons from the Pandemic.”

Scott Watson, professor of tuba/euphonium, was named the winner of the 2022 International Tuba-Euphonium Association Daniel Perantoni Teaching Award. 

Recent news

Eileen Battles, manager of the Kansas Data Access & Support Center at the Kansas Geological Survey, received the 2022 Geospatial Excellence Award–Catalyst from the National States Geographic Information Council.

Kansas Public Radio staff members, including Greg Echlin, Laura Lorson, Kaye McIntyre, Jim McLean, Danny Mantyla, J. Schafer and Dan Skinner, received individual awards at the 2022 Kansas Association of Broadcasters Annual Convention in Manhattan on Oct. 24.

A project led by Masoud Kalantari, associate professor of chemical & petroleum engineering, to responsibly maximize recovery from unconventional oil and gas reservoirs is a finalist for the “Breakthrough Research of the Year” awards at the Abu Dhabi International Petroleum Exhibition & Conference.

Akinlolu Ojo, executive dean of the KU School of Medicine, was elected to the National Academy of Medicine, considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine. Ojo was selected for his work identifying major racial disparities in kidney transplantation.

Steven Prohira, assistant professor in the Department of Physics & Astronomy, was named to the 2022 class of MacArthur Fellows. He is the recipient of an $800,000 “genius grant” awarded to extraordinarily talented and creative individuals as an investment in their potential.

Belinda Sturm, professor of civil, environmental & architectural engineering, won the 2022 Paul L. Busch Award from the Water Research Foundation.

Mike Wilkins, the Larry D. Horner/KPMG Professor in the School of Business, will serve as senior editor of Auditing: A Journal of Practice & Theory, a highly ranked publication of the Auditing Section of the American Accounting Association.